Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2015, 16:29   #1

Boat: Need a boat
Very New and Very Ambitious

Hello everyone! I started sailing through a Small Boat Sailing merit badge class about 5 years ago. It was kinda a underwhelming class with unkept Sunfish and a small man made lake to capsize in. It taught me a lot about how much a person can take and how strong we all are as people just through willpower. After the camp I never touched a halyard since... I work as a dishwasher and work long hours alone in my little dishpit. They call it the thinking man's job. One late closing night shift, I realized that now that I'm going to college I want to do a lot of things while I'm young. So I thought, well I don't want to climb Mount Everest. I don't want to go to the moon. I hate flying. Maybe backpack through Europe? No, that's too over done. Last summer as I was closing I remembered back to that summer camp. That's it! I'll sail around the world! Al through out my life so far things have been subtly drawing me back to the sea. I live far from it now, I feel like it's my home. I binge watched S/V Delos, La Vagabond, S/V Seeker, S/V Emerald Steel, and other sailing channels just trying to feed this unquenchable thirst for the sea.
I've tried to burn myself out on the idea. I usually do that with a lot of things but this one seems oddly different. I can't stop thinking about it. I daydream in my lectures about the salty stinging wind of Cape Horn, the turquoise waters of Polynesia, and the different cultures I'd come across. I live for stories and adventure.