Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2007, 07:08   #1

Want to sail

I am new to board and just want to sail. Maybe a few of you could give me some tips on what to look for in a sail boat and what to avoid. I am a sea kayaker from Maine and would like to branch into sailing. There are a lot of boats around here but where do I begin? Anyone looking for a sail partner, some company aboard in exchange for some lessons.
wind4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2007, 07:34   #2

Boat: B24
Don't know anything about what may be available up in Maine so can't be of much help there, sorry, but welcome from a fellow forum newbie...
Old 23-10-2007, 08:10   #3

Boat: Van de Stadt 34'
I would contend the transition from kayaking to sailing is best made in a two-crew dinghy, where the helmsman is offering instruction by virtue of needing you to adjust things etc - everyting is in your field of vision, and you'll latch on pretty quickly. A competent crew or day skipper course in tandem with this would be helpful. Then graduate to crewing on larger boats if that's what you want - it's a steep but rewarding learning curve!! Welcome to the forum!
Old 23-10-2007, 09:46   #4

Boat: 34' Seafarer Ketch "Friea"; 30' SeaRay
It might help to know what part of Maine you are from. I have friends whose daughter lives in Maine. She is considering selling her sailboat because her sailing partner passed away and she doesn't like sailing solo. She probably isn't the only one in that predicament...
Old 23-10-2007, 11:18   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Welcome aboard wind4me,