Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2024, 09:22   #1

Boat: Under decision
Waves and winds, bucket list item

Dear friends,
I have been lurking and learning on this wonderful forum for a long time, now coming out of the shade to say hello with intentions to learn further and contribute to the best of my ability. I am new to real sailing, I admit, but I am not new to life, so suffer me as you were suffered by others when you were in the dreaming stage.
All the best!
7th wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2024, 13:57   #2

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Re: Waves and winds, bucket list item

Welcome aboard CF, 7th wave,

Maybe you could tell us what boats you're considering. Most of us like to talk about them, and ours, for that matter.

Ann
Old 06-08-2024, 22:00   #3

Hi Ann,
Hmmm, multi-pronged question, what boat?
I don't have formed my firm desires nor needs yet but simple and rugged in 34' - 38' range, sloop or fractional sloop with bulb keel and single rudder is presketched on my canvas.
Rigged for single hand is my destiny.
I am considering aluminum or steel hull rather than FRP for my own reasons, also minimal or no ornamental wood. I can handle nearly all aspects of boat maintenance and upgrades on my own.
Something as Van De Stadt Helena appeals to me alot.
I know one should start on smaller craft, however I am willing to endure steeper learning curve while missing on the benefits of the smaller craft learning.
I am traditionalist and like to do things the old fashion way, so the latest gadgets are not on top of my list.