Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 19:04   #1

Boat: Colvin Gazell 50'
Send a message via Yahoo to kiwitrucker
54' Ferro Ketch

I am looking at a 54' Ferro Cement Ketch to sail around the world. As there seems to be many trilions of years experience by the posters on here I am looking for opinions. I have very little sailing experience but am taking the ISPA courses to Yacht Master ticket along with coastal each winter for the next 2 winters. I also will be looking for a couple of experienced crew when we head west.
questions are
Is 54' to big a boat?
Is ferro a suitable hull material for around the world cruises?
Is ketch rig the best, worst or somewhere in between?
Thanks for your input. Tony
kiwitrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 19:15   #2

Boat: Now we need to get her to Louisiana !! she's ours
Re: 54' Ferro Ketch

Ive seen some ferro boats I would sail anywhere!! But Ive seen a great big bunch of ferro boats I would not sail across lake Ponchatrain !! ya have to be carefull theres some fine bilt english and Canadian ferros but theres a bunch of home made death traps out there !! just take a good sailor with ya to look at any boats with ya !! just my 2 cents
Old 12-04-2012, 19:20   #3

Thanks for the reply. I intend having a survey done. What is your opinion on size and rigging?
Old 12-04-2012, 19:25   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!

54 foot is great till you got to pay visitor rates at the marina,thats 150 euro a night plus in some parts of the med.
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 20:33   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43

Quote:
Is 54' too big a boat?