Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2021, 14:35   #1

Baby Steps

I imagine there's the brave way and the sensible way to get used to sailing & liveaboard.

I hope to have a 35ft monohull ready to sail by March 2022. I have little experience but have RYA qualifications. I will not have access to sailing until January 2022.

Seems to me that just launching and hoping for the best is a bit risky, or learn as you go, some may say.

How do I go from zero to competent without having sailing friends or crew, as I want to single hand? Will people at marinas be happy to come and ride shotgun or is there a programme of things to do to build confidence and competence that I can follow?
cooper1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 16:10   #2

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Re: Baby Steps

Quote:
Originally Posted by cooper1991 View Post
I imagine there's the brave way and the sensible way to get used to sailing & liveaboard.

While there are adjustments, living is pretty much the same wherever you do it. You take care of basic needs. We found in our travels, that our provisioning changed quite a bit, according to what is available where you are.

I hope to have a 35ft monohull ready to sail by March 2022. I have little experience but have RYA qualifications. I will not have access to sailing until January 2022.

So, you're rusty, and feel you'd like to improve your skills.
Easiest thing is to hire a skipper to teach you for a day. Someone who is used to teaching others (essentially helping them think about how to do things.) I'd suggest refreshing your self on the Colregs, before you get to the boats. found the flash cards helpful for learning about how tugs and tows, and fishing boats are lit at night, etc.