Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Seamanship & Boat Handling
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2021, 16:37   #1

Boat recommendations to travel from West Coast US to Panama

I am new to boating and was thinking of buying a boat and sailing it to Panama, but the broker said the type of boat I was looking at was not a good fit. What type of boat do I need? I was looking at a 42' Ponderosa Sun Deck. If that boat would not be suitable, what would be a good recommendation?
thcecil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2021, 16:55   #2

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Re: Boat recommendations to travel from West Coast US to Panama

[emoji897][emoji41]
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2021, 18:14   #3

Boat: Swarbrick S-80

Hi, Cecil, this comes across as the classic troll post.
If you’re serious, then more info please.
ChrisJHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2021, 18:20   #4
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Cape George 31

You need more than the best possible boat--and there are hundreds of boat designs that can do the trip; you need to be the right type of person.
You need experience. Before you have that, you have to be a beginner. This is not a beginner voyage. Start by being a beginner, and by the time you have the experience to contemplate such a voyage, you'll know what kind of boat you need.
Old 15-07-2021, 20:52   #5

Boat: SAnta Cruz 27

The Ponderosa would probably make it to Panama, but there are two places you have to transit where the winds have names. Like most trawlers, it would probably roll your guts out in a beam sea. Look at boats with stabilizers/paravanes.