Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-05-2019, 20:34   #1

Lightbulb Corbin 39 Mk I helm balancing act

Ahoy all!

Not sure if this is the right forum. If not, please excuse my stumble.

I've been lurking here for a little over a year. My co-Cap't and I have our eye on purchasing a Corbin 39. I've read all about the factory -vs- owner finished boat/joinery so we are going in with eyes wide open. Plus, I was a cabinet maker/finish carpenter in a previous life. I've pretty much searched all of the Corbin 39 threads on CF to no avail.

I am pretty adamant that I want nothing to do with a bow sprit; anchor bridles, higher marina fees, additional hull penetrations, bob stay, etc. So, MkII is a low priority on our shopping list. Though I would think the forward mast step of the MkII helpful.

Our question for the collective wisdom of CF arises from my tendency to believe that Dufour/Corbin would not design a boat (MkI) that is incapable of helm balance on all angles of heel to weather. Moving the dynamic CE:CLR relationship does not seem like rocket science to me. As such we are hoping for some helpful sailplan info that will best balance the helm of the Corbin 39 MkI. As an example, I have read of one Corbin 39 sailor whose sailmaker told him to shorten the foot of his main by 3 feet. He did so and bought a shorter boom too. He reports this worked well.

I am inclined to think there is an optimum heads'l and stays'l cut that will effectively move the CE adequately closer to the CLR on all angles of heel to weather with her heavy ballast to displacement and without cutting down the foot of the mains'l and boom. In general, this discussion is relevant to the 51 foot mast. Not sure I want the 46 foot shorty. But am open to all good ideas.

Thoughts?

Help please!

And thank you!