Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-01-2019, 11:34   #1

First boat, intermediate sailor.

I've been sailing for 10 years. I started with multiple ASA classes and really threw myself into the art (cruising, not racing). I've rented many times, the last time about a year ago.

I am now in the final stages of buying our first boat for our little family of 5.

My oldest is starting his courses next week (he's 17) and he is very excited.

So, I'm not a novice but certainly humble enough to know there is a lot I dont know or need to practice.

Our first family goal is to sail the channel islands (SoCal).

The question is this - From a skills perspective, what do you wish you had learned (or practiced more) before you bought your first sailboat? What advice would you give me to get ready to cruise safely with the family.
regex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2019, 11:52   #2

Re: First boat, intermediate sailor.

Regex, I'm eagerly looking for replies to your post as I'm in the same exact situation though a bit older as my kids are grown and out of the house. I now reside in Charleston SC and hope to purchase something in the coming year.
smattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2019, 12:03   #3
rbk

Boat: T37

Sailing is the easy part, it’s the systems troublshooting that’ll get you. Everything will eventually fail when it’s least convenient, being able to troubleshoot and solve the issue(s) and knowing them inside and out are what you need to practice the most IMO. Plumber, electrician, carpenter, mechanic, tailor all rolled into one.
rbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2019, 12:30   #4

Boat: Tayana Vancouver 42

Regex, welcome to cruising. It sounds as though you’re making a good start with the experience and courses you have taken.