Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2021, 13:51   #1

Boat: Hunter 38
Proper way to use mooring ball?

I picked up a mooring ball the other night in Fernandina Beach. I've never used one before and the boat is new to us.

I did get it on the first attempt

These balls have a permanent pennant of heavy line with an eye. I noticed that all the monohulls I could see had their connections to the eye of the pennant running out through a bow roller.

I have a double bow roller but one side is temporarily inop waiting for a part, and the other occupied by my anchor.

I have two forward deck cleats. What I did was use a dock line on each side, using a larks foot through the eye of the deck cleat, pass the line through the eye of the pennant, then cleat it off on the same deck cleat. This was done on each side with enough line so the mooring ball was a couple feet ahead of the stem.

Is there a better way?
flightlead404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 15:48   #2

Boat: Sabre 34
Re: Proper way to use mooring ball?

Sounds right, or if you only wanna use 1 line you can cleat it off on one side, pass it through the pennant eye and then cleat it off on the other side.

Btw, congrats on your first mooring ball pickup, I am pretty good with picking it up under sail as I have done that hundreds of time with a smaller boat but it took me more than 5 attempts to do under engine the first time, I kept on overshooting it.
Knotical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2021, 15:59   #3

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop

Some of us like to pull the mooring up so there is strain on it, so that the ball doesn't come bumping into the side of the hull at night when the wind drops out.

I'd far rather be on our own ground tackle than listen to that racket half the night.

Ann