Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2021, 13:51   #1

Question Sailing south from the PNW

I am recently retired and the new owner of a 2021 Hanse 388. It came into port today! I am not too experienced, a lot of Caribbean charter and Monterrey Bay experience, not boat ownership. My goal is to spend the winter in Mexico. My dilemma is, given the season, the soonest that I Can get a dodger fabricated is November. I have contacted 10 canvas people. They are all swamped. Has anyone sailed south from the PNW to Mexico without a dodger? A downwind sail. Is this crazy to attempt. Maybe a dive mask and foulies are all I need. I plan on going in September, would love to do the HaHa. Input here is desired. My other option is to keep my NEW boat in the PNW and wait until next year which would be tough to do. I didn’t count on this delay.
Beancounter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2021, 19:17   #2

Boat: Jeanneau 41 DS
Re: Sailing south from the PNW

Hi..

Congratulations. I have sailed for 30 years in So Cal and have looked at the NW and have plans in the future for the HaHa. My advice as new boat owner is to use the boat in the safe NW area and learn as much as you can on that boat and get her ready for the trip down the coast next year . You just don't buy a boat a few months later take it on such a long trip without getting yourself and the boat ready. The NW, West Coast, and Mexico are all very different and you really need to have some experience and comfort in that boat before jumping in, in hopes all goes well.

IMHO

Abe
sailingabe41ds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2021, 06:20   #3

Boat: Bavaria 38E