Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-2022, 20:20   #1

Tacking in light winds?

Just looking for comments or suggestions...

I'm a novice and took a Catalina 25 out for a sail in fairly light winds - probably about 5 knots. I found that after about an hour of tacking back and forth, I had barely made any progress upwind.

Is this typical?

For this kind of boat in these conditions?

A reflection of my pitiful skills?
Canopus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2022, 20:47   #2

Re: Tacking in light winds?

What size jib? Sometimes jibs larger than a 110 are not necessarily better for lighter air. How did you use the traveler? I owned my C25 for 11 years. Since I sailed on SF Bay I rarely had 5 kt winds.
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2022, 20:54   #3

Boat: Morgan 382

Was there any current? In only 5kts, your progress upwind will be slow. With any current at all, you could be making no progress at all. At times, I have tacked back and forth for hours, and wound up going backwards.
Old 19-10-2022, 20:54   #4

Boat: Westsail 28

It's tough in those conditions. You've gotta eke every tenth of a degree of pointing and tenth of a knot of speed you can out of your boat and rig. As Stu said, where's your traveler? Your vang? Your outhaul? Is your crew sitting on the leeward rail to give you a bit more heel? Are you pointing exactly as high as you can without ever pinching, because if you pinch, there goes your speed. And so on. Light air sailing is more exhausting than the other extreme imo.
riksf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2022, 21:03   #5

Lake sailing - no current.

Thanks for the replies - they sound reasonable.