Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2015, 04:28   #1

Boat: 1979 Watkins 27
What is considered a normal degree of heeling?

I'm a newbie sailor having recently purchases a 79 Watkins 27 and hadn't tried out using full sails until this weekend, I had just been cruising a long using the genoa, so I was cruising along at 5 knots with around 8 degrees of heel with both the main and genoa up in about 8 knots of wind, according to the windy phone app, and then the wind picked up and as soon as it did the boat heeled over to 15 degrees and picked up speed to 6.5 knots so needless to say with me being inexperienced this kind of freaked me out so I pulled in the genoa and just kept the main up and cruised along at 3.5-4 knots. Afterwards I felt like I should have just kept going and that is exactly what should have happened when the wind picked up, so I'm wondering if there is a normal, sorta, degree of heel?
chadc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2015, 04:38   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: What is considered a normal degree of heeling?

Depends entirely on the boat, many aren't sailing well it seems until they get at least 15 degrees of heel, while mine for instance 15 seems to be about max, by that I mean she is going about as fast as she is going to at 15 degrees of heel, beyond that there is very little to be gained.
Your comfort limit sometimes comes from intelligence I think, we know and understand the limits of our training and experience and become uncomfortable beyond those limits It's smart in my opinion to back off when your uncomfortable, you have plenty of time to get this figured out.

But if your like me you will eventually get stupid and get knocked down, after that 15 doesn't seem like much at all