Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-01-2008, 13:04   #1

Location: Cruising in the SUN! Now hauled out in Malta for the winter.
Boat: 37' Oldenziel cat
Diesel cooker

I do NOT like gas on board so I'm planning of replacing a gas cooker with a diesel cooker, like one of the Wallas range. Any experiences with cooking on / with diesel?
Roger
multihullsailor6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 13:11   #2
cruiser

I agree with you about propane. Unfortunately, I have no experience with the Wallas diesel cooktop and oven, but have drooled over them for years! ha ha
ssullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 13:16   #3

Location: On Board - Currently - Heading back to SF Bay from Mexico.
Boat: Valiant 50 - Raptor Dance
Send a message via Skype™ to RaptorDance
All the diesel stoves (especially the Wallas) cook great. Unfortunately - the generate a LOT of heat. So much so that they're typically only found on boats in the high latitudes.

Down here in Mexico, almost everyone uses Propane and loves it. With care you won't have an earth shattering kaboom!

I don't know if anyone ever did a study of it, but based on our experience with the cruisers down here in Mexico: There have been no deaths or serious injuries from propane that we know of. We know of at least 3 people, in 3 separate instances, who were seriously burned (requiring extensive hospitalization, reconstructive surgery and physical therapy) from their "so called safe" alcohol stoves.
SV Raptor Dance - Valiant 50 #107
Bill Finkelstein & Mary Mack
https://raptordance.com
RaptorDance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2008, 13:38   #4
cruiser