Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Families, Kids and Pets Afloat
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2008, 04:08   #1

Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
What can I expect in my cruising life?

Hi Everyone,

I hope you had a happy Christmas and are having a fantastic new year so far!

I am new to sailing and I am just about to pack up life on land and go crusing with my boyfriend next month.

I was wondering if you might have some advice and stories etc to share with me as I am really looking forward to life at sea, but it is all new to me.

I know there are some good books on the subject suc as "The Crusing Womans Advisor" which I will be reading, but I also would love to hear about your life and experiences on board a yacht.

Are there any golden rules? Things I should think about before living on a boat? Anything tips that will, or can make life a little more relaxing on a boat?

Any advice or assistance would be wonderful!

It is all so exciting and I can't wait to start on my new adventure and new life with my wonderful boyfriend (he is a very experienced sailor).

Thanks so much!

Have a wonderful day!

Smiles and Laughter

Nicolle (Australia)
Old 01-01-2008, 04:54   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
It's supposed to be fun - all of it.

You'll fair best if you start learning all you can. It really works better with two people that can do most all the things that need to be done. Sitting around smiling gets old after a few days. It's better to be active in the whole operation. There is a tremendous amount to learn so enjoyment while learning is a requirement.